“I was on my lap and could see he was going quite slowly. He compromised my line a little bit for Turn 13 and definitely ruined my lap,” Bottas told Sky F1.
“I don’t know how the rule book says but I know it ruined my lap and only had one attempt in Qualy 3 as opposed to two.”
Max and Valtteri will be attend to see the stewards in just under half an hour’s time – 9pm UK.
No incident – Verstappen
“There is no incident,” Max Verstappen told Sky F1.
“It’s his own problem if he outbrakes himself at the next corner. I was on the inside and didn’t hold him up.
“I moved to the inside and was past the point where you go to the right. I don’t see an incident.” Max added
“Q2 was really good but in Q3 we lost it with the temperatures and no grip.
“I think my lap was better but the grip was not the same. We are still second so it’s not a big nightmare.”
Observations from Sky Sports expert
“He did ruin Bottas’ lap so he may well be aggrieved there,” Damon Hill says of the Verstappen-Bottas incident.
“It could be a problem,” says Paul Di Resta.
“On the balance, I don’t think he would give them a penalty. he was unsighted,” continues Di Resta on whether Verstappen will be penalised.
“I feel for Bottas becuase he has to get off the curb quicker than he would normally. When you direction change, one axel becomes light and he locked up.
“That isn’t the problem though. Bottas then has to make a very safe second attempt in Q3 and finds himself down in P4 when he may be P2.”