2017 F1

Here’s how Hamilton can win his 4th F1 world title at Mexican GP

Lewis Hamilton can secure his fourth Formula 1 drivers’ championship title at this weekend’s Mexican Grand Prix.

Dominant triumph at the United States GP overextended Hamilton’s lead over nearest title rival Sebastian Vettel to 66 points, but the German’s second-place finish resulted the championship race was extended for a further week.

Mathematically, Vettel could still win the title for Ferrari if Hamilton has a three-race failure of epic proportions.

Hamilton has scored points in every race this season and hasn’t missed a podium after the first-half of the season.

Here’s the full-maths for how the drivers’ championship title can be decided this weekend…

Image Source – Twitter

The high-altitude Mexican GP circuit could well favour Ferrari more than Mercedes, but Hamilton won from pole position last year and arrives this time with a haul of five victories from the last six races.

The pressure, what little there is remaining, is all on Vettel. It will take the biggest comeback the sport has ever seen to deny Hamilton now, even if Mercedes continue to urge caution.

“I can imagine every scenario,” Mercedes team boss Toto Wolff told reporters in Texas on Sunday night when asked if he could envisage Hamilton not winning.

“This is motor racing. Sebastian had a DNF (did not finish) in Singapore, scored little in Sepang (Malaysia) and DNF at Suzuka.

“So it is not done until you’ve mathematically achieved it,” added the Austrian, whose team have already wrapped up the constructors’ championship for the fourth year in a row.



ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top