2018 F1

Chase Carey Confirms 21 Grands Prix For 2018 F1 Calendar

Formula 1 chief executive Chase Carey has announced that there will be 21 grands prix next year.

That is just one race more than this season, despite the fact the sport’s new owners Liberty Media have hinted that the calendar could expand to as many as 25.

“There will be 21 next year,” American Carey told Auto Motor und Sport.

“But the list of places that are interested fills a page. The priority is to make the 21 races that we do have better.”

However, Carey said he does have his eye on adding at least another US race in a ‘destination city’, like New York, Miami or Las Vegas.

“We have five or six cities in the United States that are interested,” he added.

Another possibility is that existing race promoters could actually drop out, particularly after Bernie Ecclestone recently admitted he had overcharged them.

Carey, however, said the problem is that F1 has not been delivering value.

“It’s not enough to sign a contract and then say ‘See you next year’. There must be more coming from our side.

“So we need to sit down with the organisers who have problems. But we have no plans to renegotiate the current agreements,” he insisted. “Our product has a certain value and it’s not as if we do not have alternatives.”

List of planned Grands Prix

2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Yas Marina
2018 Australian Grand Prix – Melbourne,
2018 Austrian Grand Prix – Red Bull Ring
2018 Azerbaijani Grand Prix – Baku City Circuit
2018 Bahrain Grand Prix – Bahrain
2018 Belgian Grand Prix – Spa-Francorchamps
2018 Brazilian Grand Prix – Interlagos
2018 British Grand Prix – Silverstone
2018 Canadian Grand Prix – Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
2018 Chinese Grand Prix – Shanghai
2018 French Grand Prix – Paul Ricard
2018 German Grand Prix – Hockenheimring
2018 Hungarian Grand Prix – Hungaroring
2018 Italian Grand Prix – Monza
2018 Japanese Grand Prix – Suzuka
2018 Mexican Grand Prix – Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
2018 Monaco Grand Prix – Monte-Carlo
2018 Russian Grand Prix – Sochi Autodrom
2018 Singapore Grand Prix – Marina Bay Street Circuit
2018 Spanish Grand Prix – Circuit de Catalunya
2018 USA Grand Prix – Circuit of the Americas



ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top