Race by Race – 2016 F1 Fastest Lap and Fastest Pit Stop

ROUND 10: British Grand Prix

DHL Fastest Lap Award: 2016 British Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton dominated the British Grand Prix weekend at Silverstone. In all the free practice sessions, in qualifying and – most importantly – in the race itself, the 31-year-old Mercedes driver led the field. In only one other classification did another driver prevail, as Nico Rosberg took the honors for the fastest race lap. The German contender thus picks up another DHL Fastest Lap Award, a competition in which he now leads his team-mate by a score of five to two. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull), Nico Hülkenberg (Force India) and Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso) are the other drivers with their names on the 2016 scoreboard, having claimed one Grand Prix fastest lap each.

PosDriverTeamTimeOn lap
01Nico RosbergMercedes01:35,54844
02Fernando AlonsoMcLaren01:35,66943
03Lewis HamiltonMercedes01:35,77145
04Daniel RicciardoRed Bull01:36,01352
05Felipe MassaWilliams01:36.14140
06Max VerstappenRed Bull01:36.407 41
07Sebastian Vettel Ferrari01:36.93344
08Kimi RäikkönenFerrari01:36,99439
09Valtteri BottasWilliams 01:37,38345
10Carlos SainzToro Rosso 01:37,40143

DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award: 2016 British Grand Prix

Top dogs beaten! For the first time this year, the fastest pit stop in the 2016 FORMULA 1 BRITISH GRAND PRIX did not go to the Williams squad. Instead, Mercedes were out in front this time with Lewis Hamilton. His mechanics changed all four tires on his car in only 2.33 seconds – no one was faster that weekend. And so, the Mercedes crew took the crown for the fastest pit stop from Williams, who have been unbeaten so far in 2016. In the first nine races this season, their drivers, Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas, have been stationary for the shortest period nine times in all.

1MercedesLewis Hamilton2.33 Sec
2Force IndiaSergio Perez2.41 Sec
3McLarenJenson Button2.49 Sec
4WilliamsFelipe Massa2.53 Sec
5Force IndiaSergio Perez2.54 Sec

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top