Connect with us

F1 top news

Vettel: Thank you Bianchi, this victory is for you



Vettel: Thank you Bianchi, this victory is for you
Four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel starting from third, and jumped both Mercedes cars off the line to lead from start to finish and secure his second top podium with the Ferrari.

Both Ferrari took the advantage at the start, and they took first and second from the two Mercedes on the front row of the grid.

Pole sitter Hamilton then almost collided with Rosberg at the chicane and ran wide, dropping him down to tenth place by the end of the first lap.

The Brit fought back to fourth ahead of a safety car period, but clashed with Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo even as defending position at the restart and fell down the order again with a drive-through penalty to eventually finish sixth.

The Red Bull duo of Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo finished second and third while Max Verstappen secured a career-best fourth place.

And McLaren-Honda secured their first double points finish with Fernando Alonso coming home fifth and Jensen Button ninth.

A minute’s silence was held before the race for former Marussia driver Jules Bianchi who died last Friday and Vettel dedicated his victory to the Frenchman.

Speaking in French on his slowing down lap, Vettel said: “Merci, Jules. C’est victoire est pour toi [Thank you, Jules. This victory is for you].”

He added in English: “You will always be in our hearts. We know sooner or later you would have been in this team.”


Latest Results

Latest F1 News

2018 F11 day ago

Pascal Wehrlein on pole for 2019 Toro Rosso race seat

Pascal Wehrlein has emerged as a top candidate to return to F1 next year. Just days ago, Mercedes admitted that...

2018 F11 day ago

I’ll be with Force India until the end of 2018 – Ocon

Esteban Ocon says he should keep his Force India cockpit for the rest of the 2018 season. Earlier, there was...

2018 F11 day ago

FIA clears legality of Ferrari’s camera-blocking ‘fan’

F1’s governing body has cleared Ferrari to keep using a controversial airbox fan. In the Singapore pits, the Italian team...

2018 F12 days ago

Ricciardo is worth top dollar – Alain Prost

Paying the big bucks for Daniel Ricciardo is an expense that Renault can fully justify. That is the view of...

2018 F12 days ago

Vettel feeling pressure of 2018 F1 title battle – Red Bull

Sebastian Vettel often struggles with pressure. That is the view of Adrian Newey, Red Bull’s famous technical boss who penned...

2018 F12 days ago

Red Bull excluding Ricciardo from meetings

Daniel Ricciardo is set to be given the cold shoulder by Red Bull. The Australian is moving from the energy...

2018 F12 days ago

Recovering Lauda ‘a lot better’ now – brother

Niki Lauda’s brother says the F1 legend is “a lot better” as he recovers from a lung transplant. The F1...

2018 F13 days ago

Verstappen reveals ‘close to retire’ because of false neutrals

  Following the impressive second place finish at Singapore Grand Prix, Max Verstappen reveals that he came close to having...

2018 F13 days ago

Hamilton extends title lead after Singapore win

Lewis Hamilton claimed a lights to flag victory, at the 2018 Singapore Grand Prix held at the Marina Bay Circuit....

2018 F13 days ago

Lewis Hamilton cruises to Singapore GP win

Lewis Hamilton grabs his 69th career win and record-equalling fourth here in Singapore Grand Prix. Max Verstappen made second place...

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media