Connect with us

British GP

Hamilton breaks F1 pole records



Hamilton breaks F1 pole records
Lewis Hamilton on pole position for the British GP ahead of Nico Rosberg; Neither Mercedes driver able to improve their lap times on final Q3 run; Massa snatches third ahead of Bottas as Williams lock out second row; Both McLarens eliminated in Q1.

Double time world champion Lewis Hamilton made history during qualifying for the British Grand Prix following claiming the 46th pole position of his F1 career.

He has now registered the most poles of active F1 driver in the sport’s history. Having drawn level with Sebastian Vette in Austrian Grand Prix after topping Q3 for the 45th time, he today moved ahead of the four-time world champion.

Qualifying at the home of the British Formula 1 circuit, Silverstone, the local hero Hamilton proved to be unbeatable and put in another stunning lap to register his seventh pole of the year by just one tenths of a second… more to follow

Formula One polesitters – Top Ten

RankDriverNatPolesSeason's active
1Michael SchumacherGermany681991–2006
2Ayrton SennaBrazil651984–1994
3Lewis HamiltonUnited Kingdom462007–
3Sebastian VettelGermany452007–
5Jim ClarkUnited Kingdom331960–1968
5Alain ProstFrance331980–1993
7Nigel MansellUnited Kingdom321980–1992 1994–1995
8Juan Manuel FangioArgentina291950–1951 1953–1958
9Mika HäkkinenFinland261991–2001
10Niki LaudaAustria241971–1979 1982–1985
10Nelson PiquetBrazil241978–1991

Hamilton storms to home pole in Silverstone for British GP


Click to comment

Latest Results

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media