Connect with us

2015 F1

2015 British Grand Prix: Silverstone Statistics



British Grand Prix Silverstone
Great Britain, Silverstone – July 5 | 13:00 local time, 14:00 CET

The ‘Home of Motorsport’ allows for some home comforts for much of the Formula 1 fraternity, with eight of the eleven teams based within 80 miles of the circuit. It has undergone many reconfigurations in recent years but it remains one of the calendar’s most challenging race tracks, thanks to its sequences of fast corners, mixed with two slower, technical sections.

A new complex of corners was added in 2010, followed by a new pit-lane and the unveiling of the Wing, an asymmetrical building that contains pit bays on the ground floor. Last year’s race will remain infamous for ‘Pirelli-gate’ as a series of tyre failures required a number of changes to the tyre construction. Many of the highlights over the years centred around British hero Nigel Mansell, especially his 1992 win en route to the world championship. Of the current drivers Fernando Alonso is the most successful here with two wins.

Lap distance: 5.891km (52 laps).
Total distance: 306,198km
Race lap record: Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1:33.401, 2013.
2014 pole: Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:35.766.
2014 winner: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes
Tyres: Hard (orange), Medium (white)


Mercedes have had five one-two finishes this season and won seven of eight races so far.

Four-times champion Sebastian Vettel has 40 career wins, double world champion Lewis Hamilton is on 37 and Fernando Alonso 32. Kimi Raikkonen has won 20 races, Jenson Button 15 and Nico Rosberg 11.

One more victory for Vettel would put him level with the late Brazilian triple world champion Ayrton Senna in third place on the all-time lists.

Ferrari have won 222 races, McLaren 182, Williams 114 and Red Bull 50. Mercedes have won 36.

McLaren have not won for 46 races, a run that dates back to Brazil 2012. They went 48 races without a win from 1993-97.


Mercedes have been on pole for the last 19 races. The record for successive poles is 24 (Williams 1992-93).

Hamilton has been on pole in seven of the eight races this season, the same number as he took all last year. Rosberg beat him in Spain. Hamilton has 45 career poles, Rosberg 16.

Rosberg took 11 poles last year, when Mercedes and Williams were the only teams to start on pole. The last non-Mercedes pole was Austria, 2014.

Ferrari’s last pole was in Germany with Alonso in 2012.


Six drivers from three teams have appeared on the podium this season — Hamilton, Rosberg, Vettel, Raikkonen, Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa.

Hamilton has now been on the podium for 15 races in a row. Only Michael Schumacher (19) has done better.

Rosberg now has 34 career podiums. Hamilton has 78, two short of Senna.


Hamilton leads Rosberg by 10 points.

Venezuelan Pastor Maldonado, for Lotus, has scored as many points in the last two races as in his previous 45.

Only McLaren’s double world champion Fernando Alonso and the two Manor Marussia drivers have yet to score.


Hamilton needs to lead for just one lap at Silverstone to break the record he shares with Jackie Stewart of leading 17 consecutive Grands Prix.

Alonso has now suffered four retirements in a row, a career first for the Spaniard.

Rosberg celebrated his 30th birthday last Saturday. (Source:Reuters)


Click to comment

Latest Results

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media