Connect with us


Four teams to compete with Renault power unit for 2014 F1



Renault confirms that four teams will compete with their power unit for 2014 Formula 1 season. Also they said that 2014 full line-up confirmation will settle in the end of June.

Following the confirmation that currently Renault powered Williams has signed a deal with Mercedes power under the new engine regulations for 2014 season. Some rumor spread-out that Mercedes is offering its 2014 turbo V6 at a lower price for Williams.

Currently Renault power using Red Bull, Lotus, Williams and Caterham. Toro Rosso already confirmed that they will use Renault engines next year. Caterham is expected to stay with Renault power in 2014.

“We would like to thank Williams for the warmth it has extended to Renault over the last two years and wish the team the very best for the future. Williams and Renault have a long history together and quickly recaptured its winning spirit in the early days of the rekindled partnership with victory in Spain 2012.” President of Renault Sport F1 Jean-Michel Jalinier said.

“We will continue to actively work with the team until the Brazilian Grand Prix in November to end the second incarnation of the partnership with results that do justice to its reputation.”

“For Renault Sport F1, we have stated on numerous occasions that we would supply up to five teams if there was a requirement to do so, but this would not make sense economically or be ideal for our resources.”

“Three, or up to four, teams is the ideal for us so the departure of Williams normalises the situation and makes things much clearer from our side. We will announce the next team within a matter of days, and then confirm the final stage before the end of June. We remain incredibly motivated about the challenge of the 2014 engines.”
Click to comment

Latest Results

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media