Connect with us


2010 European Grand Prix



Bookmark and Share


Historically the European Grand Prix was an honorary title, created by the FIA’s predecessor and first awarded to Monza, home to the Italian Grand Prix in 1923. The title was last given to Silverstone in 1977. It was revived in its current form as a stop-gap event in 1983 – the schedule for that year had featured a race near Flushing Meadows in New York but the event was cancelled three months before it was due to take place. Organisers at Brands Hatch stepped in to stage a race which was christened the European Grand Prix, as the British Grand Prix had already taken place at Silverstone in July.

The race proved hugely popular with the fans but as Brands Hatch was unable to host the event the following year – in that time Silverstone and Brands Hatch alternated hosting duties of the British GP – the race was held at the Nürburgring in Germany. Brands Hatch hosted the race in again in 1985, but then the race was replaced by the Hungarian Grand Prix.

In 1992 plans were made to replace the 1993 Mexican Grand Prix with a new race in Asia but in the end the race failed to materialise. Bernie Ecclestone stepped in and added a race at Donington – the circuit owner Tom Wheatcroft had been looking to attract F1 to Donington since a failed bid to host the British Grand prix in 1988. The race was won by Ayrton Senna in changeable wet and dry conditions – he lapped the entire field.

The raced moved to Jerez in 1994 and then back to the Nurburgring for 1995 and 1996. In 1997 Jerez once again hosted the European Grand Prix in replacement for the Portuguese Grand Prix. This race was the final of the season and saw Michael Schumacher and Jacques Villeneuve clash – the resulting accident saw Schumacher disqualified from the championship.

The race was absent from the calendar in 1998 but returned to Nürburgring in 1999 when in wet conditions Johnny Herbert was able to secure Stewart Grand Prix’s only race victory. The race remained at the Nurburgring until 2007. In 2008 the race found a new home on the streets of the Spanish town of Valencia where it is set to remain until 2014.


Bookmark and Share

Latest Results

Latest F1 News

2018 F133 mins ago

Sirotkin to test DTM, Hartley to Porsche

Sergey Sirotkin could keep his motor racing career alive in the German touring car series DTM. SMP Racing, his Russian...

2018 F146 mins ago

McLaren not ‘copying’ Red Bull car – Sainz

Carlos Sainz has played down claims McLaren is ‘copying’ Red Bull’s chassis concept for 2019. With Red Bull moving to...

2018 F153 mins ago

Barcelona hopes for new F1 contract

Organisers of the Spanish grand prix are still not sure they will reach a new agreement with Liberty Media. Vicenc...

2018 F11 day ago

Berger sees F1 chance for nephew Auer

is hoping his nephew may have a future in formula one. One the one hand, the F1 legend said he...

2018 F11 day ago

Hamilton teammate Bottas ‘is not there’ – Verstappen

Max Verstappen has admitted he will try to emulate Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes’ approach to winning the world championship. The...

2018 F11 day ago

Mexico GP future in doubt

A cloud has moved above the future of the highly popular Mexican grand prix. The rejuvenated race at the iconic...

2018 F11 day ago

“I did not lose confidence in myself at any time,” – Carlos Sainz

Carlos Sainz says he will do his best to “lead” McLaren from the cockpit in 2019. The Spaniard is moving...

2018 F12 days ago

Sirotkin, Wehrlein eye Ferrari role for 2019

Two drivers may be eyeing Daniil Kvyat’s job at Ferrari for 2019. This year, Russian Kvyat was a Ferrari development...

2018 F12 days ago

“I just wanted to make it better,”- Verstappen

Max Verstappen has revealed that he is prepared to be patient with Honda in 2019. Especially in 2018 as the...

2018 F12 days ago

Gasly ‘not afraid’ of Verstappen

Pierre Gasly says he is not worried about pairing up with Max Verstappen at Red Bull next year. Gasly replaces...

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media