Connect with us

2017 F1

Verstappen edges ahead of Vettel in Singapore GP FP3



Max Verstappen set fastest lap-time ahead of Sebastian Vettel. After the flying lap Verstappen complained about his Red Bull shifting gear by itself. Late improvement from third-fastest Lewis Hamilton to close within a tenth; McLaren duo Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne set fourth and fifth quickest respectively.

Vettel set fastest time in the early running. Lewis Hamilton temporarily held second place with a lap just under a adrift of the German.

25 minutes into the session – Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen set top two fastest lap-time.
Just after the halfway point the red flags came out when Marcus Ericsson hit the wall late in his lap. The Sauber speedy lost control of the rear and spun backwards into the barriers, smashing the rear wing of his car and shipping substantial rear end damage.

After the session restart, Vettel was the first to show, with the Ferrari drivers posting a fastest-time. That changed with 10 minutes left on the clock when both Verstappen and Ricciardo emerged for their quali simulations. Verstappen was quickly into his stride, re-taking first place with a lap of 1:41.829.

Following the flying lap, Verstappen slowed dramatically and reported that his car was changing gear by itself. He too was told to return to the pits.

Sixth place went to Ricciardo, who kissing into the wall following best lap-time, though the Australian failed to put in a qualifying simulation. Behind him, Nico Hulkenberg was seventh for Renault ahead of Bottas, with Räikkönen ninth ahead of Force India’s Sergio Perez.


Latest Results

Latest F1 News

2018 F111 hours ago

Hamilton is stronger than Vettel – Briatore

205SharesFlavio Briatore thinks Mercedes is still the favourite for the 2018 world championship. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel has taken an 8...

2018 F114 hours ago

Sirotkin reveals his biggest problem with Williams’ 2018 car

2SharesSergey Sirotkin has given more details about his biggest problem with Williams’ 2018 car. While the car is obviously uncompetitive,...

2018 F115 hours ago

F1 eyes 20-year deal for Miami Grand Prix

1ShareYet another meeting could finally mean the green light for a grand prix in Miami. We have reported that Liberty...

2018 F12 days ago

Raikkonen could return to Sauber F1 for 2019

367SharesThe signs are growing ever stronger that Ferrari will have a new driver in 2019. Kimi Raikkonen admits that it...

2018 F12 days ago

Red Bull encourages Honda power to prepare for 2019 F1

1ShareRed Bull is encouraging Toro Rosso and Honda to help the senior energy drink-owned team prepare for 2019. Honda already...

2018 F12 days ago

Hamilton and Vettel Battling For The F1 Title

257SharesThe British Grand Prix at Silverstone is one that Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have dominated for years and that trend...

2018 F15 days ago

Can Red Bull Challenge Mercedes And Ferrari?

24SharesSo, things didn’t exactly go to plan for Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes at Silverstone as the Brit made a disastrous...

2018 F16 days ago

Liberty working on securing future of British GP – Brawn

10SharesRoss Brawn says Liberty Media is working on securing the future of the British grand prix. Silverstone owner the BRDC...

2018 F16 days ago

Grosjean form ‘unacceptable’ – Haas F1

1ShareGunther Steiner says a “critical moment” could come amid his patience with struggling Haas driver Romain Grosjean. Frenchman Grosjean has...

2018 F16 days ago

No ‘negotiations’ with Raikkonen yet – McLaren

37Shares Zak Brown says McLaren has not yet opened contract talks with former team driver Kimi Raikkonen. It is rumoured in...

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media