2017 F1

Hamilton wins Italian GP to holds the championship lead

Utterly dominant weekend for Lewis Hamilton, and the Brit holds the driver’ championship lead for the first time this season.

Valtteri Bottas crossed the line in second place as Mercedes completed a dominant one-two, while Hamilton’s chief title rival Sebastian Vettel made up three spots to complete the podium places on a weekend to forget for Ferrari in front of their home fans.

Hamilton claims the first back-to-back win of 2017 and takes a three-point lead in the Drivers’ Championship over Vettel and indeed, for the first time since the conclusion of this very race last year.

“The last 15 or 20 laps, after I went off, something went wrong,” says Sebastian Vettel.

“That’s why I was going up and down on the engine. That explains why Ricciardo closed him down so quickly.

Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo, meanwhile, finished fourth from 16th on the grid, while Vettel’s teammate Kimi Raikkonen finished the race down in fifth position.

Ricciardo’s Red Bull team-mate Max Verstappen, second-fastest in the wet on Saturday, was demoted to 13th following an engine change penalty, and the young speedy was up to eighth by the end of lap one.

But his progress was spoiled following a collision with Felipe Massa at turn one in which he suffered a broken front wing and front-right puncture.

The young speedy emerged in last, but fought his way up to 10th to earn a single point.

Neither McLaren car finished in the points with Stoffel Vandoorne suffering a loss of power, and Fernando Alonso ending the afternoon down in 17th position.

Front row starter – Williams young man Lance Stroll made seventh behind the Esteban Ocon. Williams F1 veteran Felipe Massa managed to finish eighth and Force India speedy set Sergio Perez ninth.

Britain’s Jolyon Palmer also failed to make it to the chequered flag following technical gremlins.

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV or any other subsidiary associated with the official Formula One governing organizations The website is an unofficial website, all names and logos used here are property of their respective owners, more specially FORMULA 1, FORMULA ONE, F1, GRAND PRIX and logos and the wide Curves logo are trademarks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula One Group Company. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only. Official Formula One information can be found at www.formula1.com

Copyright © 2015 Thisisf1.com

To Top