F1 top news

Vettel wins as Ferrari breaks their 16-year Monaco magic

Championship leader Sebastian Vettel wins the Monaco Grand Prix for the second time as Ferrari finally break their 16-year Monaco top podium finish – first time since 2001 the Italian squad have won the Monaco GP.

The pole-sitter Kimi Raikkonen leads the race in the initial stage, but team mate Vettel made his way to P1 – It is clear that, Ferrari played for Vettel with pit-stop tactical.

The German started from second place on the grid, Vettel kept pace with fellow teammate Raikkonen, before overtaking his fellow Ferrari driver during the pits following a suspected team order.

This should have been Raikkonen’s race to win. Vettel now has a 25-point lead over Lewis Hamilton. Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo claimed third ahead of Valtteri Bottas.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen was fifth ahead of Spanish driver Carlos Sainz Jr. A terrible weekend for Mercedes, with Lewis Hamilton finishing seventh after starting from 13th following a poor qualifying session.

McLaren substitute Jenson Button start from pit-lane and can’t lift his position, finally he appeared to cause the clash, edging his McLaren too close to Wehrlein’s Sauber as they turned toward the tunnel entry.

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV or any other subsidiary associated with the official Formula One governing organizations The website is an unofficial website, all names and logos used here are property of their respective owners, more specially FORMULA 1, FORMULA ONE, F1, GRAND PRIX and logos and the wide Curves logo are trademarks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula One Group Company. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only. Official Formula One information can be found at www.formula1.com

Copyright © 2015 Thisisf1.com

To Top