Connect with us

F1 top news

Alonso taking a fabulous P5 in Indy 500 qualifying



Double world champion Fernando Alonso will start this year’s Indianapolis 500 fifth on the grid after an impressive showing in qualifying for the event.

The Spaniard finished with a four-lap average of 231.300 mph in qualifying Sunday – after making an engine change.

He was the first driver to top 231 on all four laps. It’s the first time he’s competed on an oval.

Andretti Autosport teammate Alexander Rossi bumped him off the pole with a run of 231.487. Rossi is the defending race winner and will start third. Scott Dixon took the pole at 232.164.

The McLaren-Honda F1 ace is skipping the Monaco Grand Prix in a bid to win America’s biggest single-seater race next Sunday. And despite having no previous oval racing experience, Alonso reckons he could have gone even faster.

“We had an overboost problem coming out of the last corner, so we hit the engine limiter, and that cost some time,” said Alonso. “The guys did an amazing job to change the engine so quickly.”

Alonso said that he was loving the experience of competing at Indianapolis, adding: “This is the biggest race in the world. I felt that the first time I came here [for practice], but the place was empty.

“Now I can see the fans coming in and the place beginning to fill up it’s even more amazing. I can’t wait for next Sunday.”

The first three rows for Sunday’s Indianapolis 500 will roll off as follows:

Row 1

1) Scott Dixon – 232.164 mph

2) Ed Carpenter – 231.664 mph

3) Alexander Rossi – 231.487 mph

Row 2

4) Takuma Sato – 231.365 mph

5) Fernando Alonso – 231.300 mph

6) JR Hildebrand – 230.889 mph

Row 3

7) Tony Kanaan – 230.828 mph

8) Marco Andretti – 230.474 mph

9) Will Power – 230.200 mph


Latest Results

Latest F1 News

2018 F19 hours ago

Hamilton escapes race ban penalty for pit entry incident

Lewis Hamilton has escaped a race ban penalty following the investigation by race stewards at Hockenheim summoned him over a...

2018 F110 hours ago

Hamilton’s German GP victory under threat

Lewis Hamilton’s German Grand Prix victory is under investigation following the race stewards at Hockenheim summoned him over a possible...

2018 F111 hours ago

Hamilton wins German GP from 14th as Vettel crashes out

Lewis Hamilton started from 14th on the grid to a 66th F1 career victory, and back into the lead of...

2018 F116 hours ago

Mercedes’ paranoia: Blame and Acceptance

Mercedes and Lewis Hamilton have had some interesting remarks about Ferrari, after the latter’s spurt in performance at the German...

2018 F117 hours ago

F1 shocked as Ferrari president departs

The F1 paddock at Hockenheim is shocked that Ferrari’s president Sergio Marchionne has suddenly departed the team and formula one....

2018 F117 hours ago

Starting Grid: German Grand Prix

The local hero, Sebastian Vettel took his 55th F1 career pole position in front of his home crowd at Hockenheimring...

2018 F117 hours ago

Alonso says he will leave F1 before 2021

Fernando Alonso says he will not be in formula one in 2021. At Hockenheim, the paddock is abuzz with news...

2018 F118 hours ago

Wolff admits Mercedes falling behind Ferrari engine power

Mercedes has admitted it is falling clearly behind Ferrari in engine power. Lewis Hamilton’s main problem in Hockenheim qualifying was...

2018 F11 day ago

Qualifying Analysis: 2018 F1 German Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel smashed the track record, to claim his maiden pole at the Hockenheim circuit, which is a half an...

2018 F11 day ago

Ferrari can get first place tomorrow – Vettel

Ferrari qualified in pole position for tomorrow’s German Grand Prix, courtesy of Sebastian Vettel. His team-mate Kimi Raikkonen will start...

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media