Connect with us

Belgian GP

Rosberg beats Verstappen to pole at Belgian GP Qualifying



Rosberg beats Verstappen to pole at Belgian GP Qualifying

Rosberg beats Verstappen to pole at Belgian GP Qualifying

Nico Rosberg took advantage of title rival Lewis Hamilton’s engine penalty to set pole position for the Belgian Grand Prix.

Rosberg secure pole with 1 minute 46.744 seconds in 7-kilometer long Spa-Francorchamps circuit

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen was second quickest and will start alongside the German on the front row for what is the closest the Dutchman has to a home race on the calendar.

Four-times Belgium winner Kimi Raikkonen was third for Ferrari.

Hamilton, set to start last due to a 55-place engine-related grid penalty, drove only four laps at an easy pace and did not make it beyond the opening phase of qualifying.

“The guys did an incredible job, putting engines in and taking them out,” Hamilton told Channel 4.

“I want to get up as high as I can [in the race] but it’s going to be hard. It won’t be smooth sailing – one car per lap – and it’s going to be lots of pit stops, so who knows?”

The Briton heads into the weekend gunning to become only the third driver to take 50 career wins.

Hamilton, who is 19 points clear of Rosberg in the title race after winning six of the last seven grands prix, completed just one run before bowing out in 21st place.


Click to comment

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media