Connect with us

Belgian GP

Mercedes, Honda also taking new power units for Belgian GP



Mercedes, Honda also taking new power units for Belgian GP

Mercedes, Honda also taking new power units for Belgian GP

Ferrari is not the only team taking engine upgrades to this weekend’s Belgian grand prix.

We reported earlier that while a new specification will be at the Spa-Francorchamps track, the Maranello team might not actually use it until Monza.

Nonetheless, the upgrade has cost Ferrari all of its remaining 3 upgrade tokens for 2016.

And now Germany’s Auto Motor und Sport also reports that two of the three other engine manufactures in F1 – Mercedes and Honda – are also taking new power units to Spa.

That ties in with reports Lewis Hamilton could take a double engine change grid penalty ahead of the race, taking advantage of the latest Mercedes specification after running through his allocation of five units for the season.

Sauber is also taking a shorter nose for its Ferrari-powered car to Spa, while Honda has redeemed some of its remaining performance tokens with the FIA ahead of the weekend in Belgium.

“For our level and the size of our team, we should be with Mercedes, Ferrari and Red Bull,” Honda chief Yusuke Hasegawa is quoted by Spain’s El Confidencial. “We cannot lose to Force India, Toro Rosso and this type of private team.”


Latest Results

Latest F1 News

2018 F12 hours ago

Bottas signed, Mercedes completed its driver line-up for 2019

54SharesValtteri Bottas has signed a new one-year contract extension with Mercedes, his team Mercedes have officially announced. It follows Mercedes...

2018 F12 hours ago

We are not negotiating with Kubica – Haas F1

1ShareGunther Steiner has rejected speculation Haas might sign up Robert Kubica for 2019. Pole Kubica is the reserve driver at...

2018 F13 hours ago

The F1 Silly Season: Who will be driving where for 2019 F1?

4SharesWith the German Grand Prix spotted the midway point in the 2018 Formula 1 Season, it now feels like the...

2018 F11 day ago

F1 should be a dictatorship – Berger

11SharesFormula one needs to return to its days as a dictatorship. That is the view of Gerhard Berger, the F1...

2018 F11 day ago

We have great confidence in Honda – Red Bull

1ShareChristian Horner remains confident Honda is the right move for Red Bull. The Red Bull boss said that at Silverstone...

2018 F11 day ago

F1 steward Mika Salo admits Ferrari penalties controversy

11SharesF1 steward Mika Salo has acknowledged the controversy over penalties given to Ferrari drivers in recent races. After Sebastian got...

2018 F11 day ago

McLaren, Williams, admit need for change

70SharesAn anonymous engineer says struggling once-great F1 teams Williams and McLaren need to make sweeping changes. Both British teams have...

2018 F12 days ago

Hamilton is stronger than Vettel – Briatore

257SharesFlavio Briatore thinks Mercedes is still the favourite for the 2018 world championship. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel has taken an 8...

2018 F12 days ago

Sirotkin reveals his biggest problem with Williams’ 2018 car

2SharesSergey Sirotkin has given more details about his biggest problem with Williams’ 2018 car. While the car is obviously uncompetitive,...

2018 F12 days ago

F1 eyes 20-year deal for Miami Grand Prix

1ShareYet another meeting could finally mean the green light for a grand prix in Miami. We have reported that Liberty...

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media