Azerbaijan GP

I am still angry from the mistake – Perez

I am still angry from the mistake - Perez

I am still angry from the mistake – Perez

Sergio Perez qualified second in Baku for European GP, but will serve a five-place grid penalty following a gearbox change.

Perez has received a five-place grid penalty after Force India changed the gearbox on his car, which was heavily damaged in Perez’ VJM09 in final practice session.

The Mexican crashed heavily at the end of the third practice session, having lost control of the rear end of his VJM09 at Turn 15, and its resulting significant damage to the right-hand side of his car, and writing off his gearbox unit.

The five-place penalty promotes Daniel Ricciardo’s Red Bull to the front row of the grid after an impressive lap following the red flag saw him leapfrog both Ferraris.

Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa and Daniil Kvyat gain a place as a result of Perez’s penalty.

“It feels like pole. Obviously I am still a bit angry from the mistake of this morning but very happy and the lap we put together in Q3 was very strong.” Peres told Sky Sports

“It was a very difficult session and hopefully tomorrow we can aim for a very strong position. I will start from seventh and I think the team deserves more than this.”

FIA Technical Delegate Jo Bauer confirmed the change in a post-session note.

“After the third free practice session the gearbox of car number 11, driver Sergio Pérez, was replaced for a new one – this change was before the six consecutive events expired,” said Bauer.


Click to comment
If you want any editorial or advertisement enquiry, Please send mail to and

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top