Connect with us

2016 F1

McLaren wants 2016 race seats for Magnussen, Vandoorne



McLaren wants 2016 race seats for Magnussen, Vandoorne

McLaren wants 2016 race seats for Magnussen, Vandoorne

McLaren says it will work hard to ensure team juniors Kevin Magnussen and Stoffel Vandoorne are on the F1 grid next year.

It appears likely that the Woking based team, enduring its high-profile struggle this year with Honda power, will retain the champion line-up of Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button in 2016.

Current reserve Magnussen, however, has said he is determined to either step up to a McLaren race seat, switch to a rival team or leave F1 to race elsewhere.

And Belgian Vandoorne, 23, is having one of the most impressive GP2 campaigns in recent memory, and will almost certainly wrap up the title soon.

“It’s a luxury problem to have four good drivers,” said McLaren team boss Eric Boullier.

“Kevin and Stoffel are very good drivers, we expect both of them to race formula one but if we can’t fit or accommodate them at home we will do our best to make sure they can race next year,” he added.

According to the paddock grapevine, even if McLaren wants to keep Button, there is an outside chance the now 35-year-old will call time on his long F1 career at the end of the season.

Mark Webber, who made the mid-30s switch from F1 two years ago, said Le Mans would also be a smart move for the popular Briton.

“Everything becomes more difficult as you get older,” the Australian is quoted by Italy’s La Gazzetta dello Sport, “even in the world of a driver.

“Look at Jenson, he’s 35 and fighting against young, aggressive guys. He had a good career but at his age he has to figure out what is the best time to stop in style.

“In sport, there seem to be only two cases of athletes who do not feel the weight of age and they are Valentino Rossi and Roger Federer,” Webber added. (GMM)


Latest Results

Latest F1 News

2018 F112 hours ago

Raikkonen could return to Sauber F1 for 2019

313SharesThe signs are growing ever stronger that Ferrari will have a new driver in 2019. Kimi Raikkonen admits that it...

2018 F113 hours ago

Red Bull encourages Honda power to prepare for 2019 F1

1ShareRed Bull is encouraging Toro Rosso and Honda to help the senior energy drink-owned team prepare for 2019. Honda already...

2018 F124 hours ago

Hamilton and Vettel Battling For The F1 Title

238SharesThe British Grand Prix at Silverstone is one that Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have dominated for years and that trend...

2018 F14 days ago

Can Red Bull Challenge Mercedes And Ferrari?

24SharesSo, things didn’t exactly go to plan for Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes at Silverstone as the Brit made a disastrous...

2018 F14 days ago

Liberty working on securing future of British GP – Brawn

5SharesRoss Brawn says Liberty Media is working on securing the future of the British grand prix. Silverstone owner the BRDC...

2018 F15 days ago

Grosjean form ‘unacceptable’ – Haas F1

1ShareGunther Steiner says a “critical moment” could come amid his patience with struggling Haas driver Romain Grosjean. Frenchman Grosjean has...

2018 F15 days ago

No ‘negotiations’ with Raikkonen yet – McLaren

36Shares Zak Brown says McLaren has not yet opened contract talks with former team driver Kimi Raikkonen. It is rumoured in...

2018 F15 days ago

Wolff wants Hamilton beyond 2020

660SharesToto Wolff has revealed he wants to keep Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes even beyond 2020. Although not yet announced, it...

2018 F15 days ago

Renault engine power deficit a bigger problem – Verstappen

5SharesMax Verstappen says Red Bull’s title chances have taken a dive. Although the Dutchman won in Austria, he says at...

2018 F17 days ago

Ricciardo admits 2019 Red Bull contract ‘likely’

1ShareDaniel Ricciardo now says it is “likely” he will stay at Red Bull in 2019. Earlier, the Red Bull driver...

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media