Connect with us

2015 F1

F1 2015 Power unit elements used so far – Malaysian GP update



The drivers entered in the 2015 Formula One Championship have used the below listed number of power unit elements during this season so far:

44Mercedes Lewis Hamilton 111112
06Mercedes Nico Rosberg111111
03Red Bull RacingDaniel Ricciardo 222211
26Red Bull RacingDaniil Kvyat 111111
19WilliamsFelipe Massa111111
77WilliamsValtteri Bottas111111
05FerrariSebastian Vettel111111
07FerrariKimi Räikkönen111111
14McLarenFernando Alonso111111
22McLarenJenson Button 111111
27Force IndiaNico Hülkenberg 111111
11Force IndiaSergio Perez 111111
33Toro RossoMax Verstappen 111122
55Toro RossoCarlos Sainz 111111
08LotusRomain Grosjean111111
13LotusPastor Maldonado 111111
09SauberMarcus Ericsson 111111
12SauberFelipe Nasr 111111
28ManorWill Stevens000000
98ManorRoberto Merhi000000

ICE – Internal combustion Engine
TC – Turbo Charger
MGU-K – Motor Generator Unit – Kinetic
MGU-H – Motor Generator Unit – Heat
ES – Energy Store
CE – Control Electronics

While not on the scale of the 2014 shake-up, a number of new regulations come into effect for the 2015 season…

Power units – each driver is restricted to four power units during the season. Should a driver exceed the total, a grid penalty will be imposed.

Power unit penalties – the replacement of a complete power unit no longer results in an automatic penalty; instead penalties are applied cumulatively based on the individual components of each power unit. Unlike in 2014, grid penalties no longer roll over to the next event.

Power unit and ERS

Unless he drives for more than one team, each driver may use no more than four power units during a championship season.

The power unit is deemed to consist of six separate elements, of which five of each are available to a driver during the season before they are penalised. The elements are the internal combustion engine (ICE), the motor generator unit-kinetic (MGU-K), the motor generator unit-heat (MGU-H), the energy store (ES), turbocharger (TC) and control electronics (CE).

Each driver is permitted to use only four of each of the above six elements during a championship season and any combination of them may be fitted to a car at any one time. Should a driver use more than four of any of the six power unit elements during the course of a season, a grid penalty will be imposed.

The penalties imposed for using additional elements work thus: the first time a fifth of any of the elements is used, a ten-place grid penalty will be imposed. A five-place grid penalty will then be imposed the first time a fifth of any of the remaining elements is used. Likewise, the first time a sixth of any of the elements is used, a ten-place grid penalty will be imposed, and so on.

If a grid place penalty is imposed, and the driver’s grid position at said event is such that the full penalty cannot be applied, the remainder of the penalty will be applied in the form of a time penalty during the race. Depending on the number of grid penalty places untaken this can range from a 5-second time penalty to a 10-second stop-go penalty.

If a driver is replaced at any time during the season his replacement will be deemed to be the original driver for the purposes of assessing power unit usage. (FIA)


Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media