Connect with us

2014 F1

2014 Abu Dhabi GP starting grid



The starting grid for 2014 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi. Note that Red Bull drivers Daniel Ricciardo and Sebastian Vettel will start from 19th and 20th after being excluded from qualifying for driving illegal cars.

1. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, 1:40:480 – The master of qualifying in 2014 did it again to claim his 11th pole this year. All he can do now is win for a sixth time this season and hope for misfortune for his teammate.

2. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 1:40:886 – Fastest in the first two parts of qualifying, but erred on both fast laps in the top-10 shoot-out as pressure appeared to tell. In prime position but no room for error.

3. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, 1:41.025 – He set the fastest first sector, but could not match the Mercedes cars through the twists of the final corners of the lap. A genuine threat to Hamilton.

4. Felipe Massa, Williams, 1:41.119 – Faster than Bottas in Q1 and Q2, but fell short of the Finn by less than a 10th of a second. Has outraced Bottas in the past two races and will fancy his chances of a podium.

5. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso, 1:41.908 – The Russian demonstrated just why Red Bull have chosen him to replace Sebastian Vettel for next year with a superb effort.

6. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1:41.964 – The 2009 world champion may have had limited practice time, but it did not show as he put together a solid performance in the McLaren.

7. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 1:42.236 – The 2012 world champion barely made it into Q3 and the Ferrari’s lack of pace was laid bare by the Finn being ­almost two seconds off Rosberg.

8. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 1:42.866 – Running wide at Turn 11 on his final lap wrecked the Spaniard’s hopes of a good grid position in what will be his last race for Ferrari.

9. Kevin Magnussen, McLaren, 1:42.198 – Disappointment from the Dane as he failed to make Q3 and was out-qualified by Button, a slow final sector to his fastest lap proving costly.

10. Jean-Eric Vergne, Toro Rosso, 1:42.207 – The Frenchman is unsure of his F1 future for 2015 and he did his hopes of staying at Toro Rosso no favours by being put in the shade by Kvyat.

11. Sergio Perez, Force India, 1:42.239 – The Force India driver has not had great single-lap pace this year, but Perez at least had the consolation of beating teammate Hulkenberg.

12. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, 1:42.384 – The German is optimistic of a better today from himself and the car, having shown encouraging long run pace during Friday’s practice sessions.

13. Adrian Sutil, Sauber, 1:43.074 – Good effort from the German to make Q2 in the struggling Sauber, but will need luck, and lots of it, to challenge for a points finish on Sunday.

14. Esteban Gutierrez, Sauber, 1.42.819 – Likely to be his last race in F1 for some time at least as he exits Sauber and he was outpaced narrowly by Sutil to be eliminated in Q1.

15. Pastor Maldonado, Lotus, 1.42.860 – Struggled with tyre temperatures and a repeat of the ninth-place points finish in the United States this month appears unlikely.

16. Kamui Kobayashi, Caterham, 1.44.540 – Given the circumstances of Caterham’s participation here, just finishing will be the realistic goal for Kobayashi in the slowest car on the grid.

17. Will Stevens, Caterham, 1.45.095 – An admirable performance from the rookie, who ended up just half-a-second slower than his more experienced teammate in his first qualifying session.

18. Romain Grosjean, Lotus, 1.42.768 – Faces a long afternoon as the 20-place grid penalty for changing engines has become a drive-through pit lane penalty that he must take during the race.

19. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, – disqualified A strong qualifying effort that saw him only two-10ths off the pace of the Williams was for nothing because of the disqualification.

20. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, – disqualified Finished third from the back two years ago, but unlikely to repeat that effort given the horsepower shortfall of the Renault engine.


Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media