2014 F1

Fifth F1 win in a row for Hamilton in US Grand Prix

The back and forth between teammates Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg ended clearly in Hamilton’s favor once again.

Hamilton passed his Mercedes AMG Petronas teammate on Lap 24 of the 56-lap race Sunday and went on to win the United States Grand Prix for the second time in its three years at Circuit of thes Americas.

The win, Hamilton’s 10th in 17 races this season, increased Hamilton’s points lead over his teammate with just two races remaining — the Brazilian Grand Prix next weekend and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Nov. 23.

Hamilton started on the front row alongside Rosberg, who won Saturday’s qualifying by 0.376 seconds. On Lap 24, however, Hamilton ducked inside Rosberg heading into the Turn 11 hairpin, forced his teammate wide on exit and took the lead.

Hamilton lost the lead briefly when he pitted on Lap 34, but when Rosberg did the same on the ensuing lap, he emerged from the pits 4.5 seconds behind Hamilton.

Overshadowed by the duel of the teammates was Daniel Ricciardo’s third-place finish for Red Bull and Sebastian Vettel’s run from 18th to seventh after a penalty forced him to start from pit lane.

Felipe Massa finished fourth, followed by Williams Martini teammate Valtteri Bottas.

The race began with a crash that took out two cars. Sergio Perez tried to overtake Adrian Sutil on Lap 1 but collided with the rear of Kimi Raikkonen’s Ferrari and struck Sutil’s car. Both Perez and Sutil retired from the race, but Raikkonen continued on to finish 13th. (usatoday)

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV or any other subsidiary associated with the official Formula One governing organizations The website is an unofficial website, all names and logos used here are property of their respective owners, more specially FORMULA 1, FORMULA ONE, F1, GRAND PRIX and logos and the wide Curves logo are trademarks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula One Group Company. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only. Official Formula One information can be found at www.formula1.com

Copyright © 2015 Thisisf1.com

To Top