Latest F1 News

2014 WTCC Race of Russia Preview


Lap distance: 3.931 km

Race distance: 2 x 16 laps / 62.896 km

Location: 80 km West of Moscow, along the Novorizhskoye Highway (M9), Volokolamsk

Press officer: Evgenia Bazarova; +7 9031534268; email:

Airports: Moscow Sheremetyevo International (120 km), Moscow Vnukovo (130), Moscow Domodedovo International (160 km), Moscow Bykovo (170)

Lap records: Qualifying: 1:43.296/137.44 kph, Yvan Muller (Chevrolet Cruze), 8 June 2013

Race: 1:44.179/135.83 kph, Tom Coronel (BMW 320 TC), 9 June 2013


2013 Race 1: Yvan Muller (Chevrolet Cruze)

Race 2: Michel Nykjær (Chevrolet Cruze)



1 October 2008 – The presentation of the project and laying of the first stone was attended by the designer, architect Herman Tilke and Formula One driver David Coulthard.

13 July 2012 – The Moscow Raceway, the first permanent racetrack in Russia, opened hosting a World Series by Renault round.

9 June 2013 – On the WTCC’s first visit, the second race provided a five-way fight for third position. Huff, Muller, Tarquini, Coronel and Thompson were running abreast when a contact eliminated the last three.

8 June 2014 – Ma Qing Hua will make his first WTCC appearance at the wheel of the Citroën Total team’s fourth C-Elysée car. The Chinese youngster is the 200th driver entered in the World Championship since 2005.


Saturday, 7 June

09.00 – 09.30: Free Practice 1

11.00 – 11.30: Free Practice 2

14.30 – 14.50: Qualifying Q1

14.55 – 15.05: Qualifying Q2

15.10 – 15.30: Qualifying Q3

15.40 (est): Qualifying press conference

Sunday, 8 June

13.15: Race 1

13.50 (est): Race 1 podium ceremony

14.25: Race 2

15.00 (est): Race 2 podium ceremony

15.15 (est): Race 1 & 2 press conference


Chairman of the Stewards: Daniel Fausel (CHE)

2nd International Steward: Paolo Longoni (ITA)

Race Director: Miroslav Bartos (CZE)

Assistant to the Race Director /

FIA Coordinator: Rui Marques (PRT)

Medical Delegate: Alain Chantegret (FRA)

Technical Delegate: Manuel Leal (ESP)

Press Delegate: Fabio Ravaioli (ITA)

Chief Timekeeper: Mike Salmon (GBR)

Incident Camera Delegate: Luca Gibello (ITA)

Safety Car Driver: Bruno Correia (PRT)

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked * is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV or any other subsidiary associated with the official Formula One governing organizations The website is an unofficial website, all names and logos used here are property of their respective owners, more specially FORMULA 1, FORMULA ONE, F1, GRAND PRIX and logos and the wide Curves logo are trademarks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula One Group Company. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only. Official Formula One information can be found at

Copyright © 2015

To Top