France and Portugal eyeing July 21 slot on 2013 F1 schedule

Formula 1 boss Bernie Ecclestone still believes this season 20th slot will fill, and also added that France and Portugal interested in July 21 slot on 2013 F1 calendar.

The end of 2012 season Formula 1 governing body FIA modified an add extra race in Europe (July 21) is to be added to the this season F1 calendar in a move which will see the title battle fought over 20 races.

Following FIA schedule revised, the German GP moved forwards to 7 July, a week earlier than originally planned, in order to allow another race in European to be run on 21 July, a week before the Hungarian GP in Budapest.

Last December Turkish Grand Prix looks set for return to F1 calendar, following the New Jersey postponed. But the top level discussion failed due to the financial trouble.

Formula 1 official right holder Bernie Ecclestone now expecting 20th race will achievable following Algarve circuit interested for Portugal GP.

“To be honest, I don’t know, There is interest still in France, and now also in Portugal. They want to do it at the new Algarve track.” Ecclestone told Autosport.

“For Germany, it would be Nurburgring. Let’s see if they can put it together.”

“If someone wants to have the 20th race, it will happen, if the track is there and okay. We can help [with] organising. He added.

“However, the teams do not seem to be in favour of this race. I doubt it will happen.”

“No. Twenty [is] the maximum amount,” he also admits that F1 calendar will not be expanded beyond 20 races in the future.


ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top