Connect with us


Vettel won European Sportsperson of the Year



Following took his third consecutive Formula 1 world championship the German F1 speedy Sebastian Vettel has been named the European Sportsperson of the Year. Vettel beat out Britain’s Bradley Wiggins.

The winner was announced on Wednesday by the Polish Press Agency (PAP), which organizes the award. Journalists from 25 European news agencies cast their votes for the prize.

Vettel won with 137 votes, beating out Britain’s Tour de France champ and 2012 Olympic gold medalist, Bradley Wiggins, by seven votes. Mo Farah, Britain’s 5,000 and 10,000 meter Olympic champion, was a close third with 126 votes.

The PAP has awarded the European Sportsperson of the Year 55 times. On its website, the agency said the winner was selected from 73 athletes in 31 disciplines representing 28 countries. There were 47 men and 26 women among the choices.

Vettel becomes the fourth Formula One driver to win the distinction, and joins fellow German Michael Schumacher on the list of recipients. Schumacher won three times from 2001-2003.

Last year, Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic was selected for the award.

Advertisement does not accept abusive behavior or harassing language in comments.
Please respect other users.
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media