Connect with us


Fernando Alonso voted as best driver of 2012 by F1 team bosses



During the Autosport’s yearly team principals’ top ten poll, F1 Team heads selected Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso as best driver of 2012 season. Alonso easily winning this year, the vote’s biggest winning margin in the five years since Autosport began the top ten.

Autosport reported that, points being awarded under the current scoring system of 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1.

Alonso took 269 points, 71 points ahead of world champion Sebastian Vettel. Struggled Lewis Hamilton set third place just one point ahead of Lotus Kimi Raikkonen. Mark Webber scored 66 points, the Australian made sixth best driver, 38 points behind the McLaren’s Jenson Button.

The other major point scorer, Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg, he was voted as the seventh best driver by the team’s heads. Nico Rosberg, Sergio Perez and Felipe Massa completed the top in the principals’ top ten poll.

Autosport team principals' top ten:

1. Fernando Alonso 269
2. Sebastian Vettel 198
3. Lewis Hamilton 177
4. Kimi Raikkonen 176
5. Jenson Button 104
6. Mark Webber 66
7. Nico Hulkenberg 50
8. Nico Rosberg 30
9. Sergio Perez 30
10. Felipe Massa 27

Images © Ferrari
Report credit: Autosport
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media