Connect with us


Newey admits developing Red Bull RB8 was frustrated



The Championship winner Red Bull Racing’s chief technical officer Adrian Newey admits that he was frustrated early stage of the season with developing the 2012 Red Bull car RB8.

Early stage of the season, Red Bull struggled too much comparatively they are dominated entire last two season. The first half of this season Red Bull hardly fight with McLaren and Ferrari, but in second half the champions back to the form, also Vettel took four race victories in a row at Singapore, Japan, Korea and India.

Finally Milton Keynes based squad Red Bull Racing has become the fourth F1 team to win three consecutive constructors’ titles and their speedy Sebastian Vettel also become the youngest triple champion in the Formula 1.

“We came out with a car which had flashes of pace,” Newey told Servus TV.

“Sebastian won in Bahrain, Mark [Webber] won in Monaco. But we didn’t have the level of consistency we wanted, and as an engineer that was very frustrating because the truth is we didn’t properly understand the car and what was happening.” Horner added.

“We made a step at Valencia and then we made a further step in Singapore and that gave us that purple patch where Sebastian won four on the trot which really set up the Championship challenge.”

“The dangerous thing in Formula One is to underestimate your rivals,” Horner said.

“And in Ferrari, McLaren, Mercedes-Benz, Lotus we saw this year, they’re massively strong teams, very motivated. We’ve managed to achieve some wonderful things the last three years and of course we’ll be very, very determined to retain the trophies that we’ve worked very hard to achieve. But you can take nothing for granted and that’s what forms a large part of our motivation going into 2013.”
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media