Button: McLaren can win in 2013 F1

2013 McLaren key driver Jenson Button finished three podiums in this season; he set fifth in drivers’ title behind his ex team-mate Lewis Hamilton. Button finished top on the podium in final Grand Prix at Brazil and he believes, McLaren can keep this momentum and to win in next season.

Following second half of the season McLaren showed some best weekend performance, especially his team-mate Lewis Hamilton took first place from the second on the grid for inaugural US Grand Prix, last few McLaren pace fairly matching with Red Bull.

“To end the season with a win is fantastic and bodes well for 2013,” Button said.

“It is a great way to go into a long winter and develop the new car. It shows we are in a very good position with it.

“Clearly, this has not been our year. I’ve had some tricky races, but then the three wins have been phenomenal.

“Now we have to work on our consistency to get the results, but we know what areas are needed and we are doing everything we can. So I really think we can win the title next year. I know we say that every year, but I really do think so.

“The thing is, we have the pace. Yes, there are other areas we need to work on, but our pace is very good.”

“They’ve done a great job and deserve everything they have got,” 2009 world champion said.

“We just have to make sure we do a better job to beat them and that is exactly what we are going to do next year.

“We came close to beating Ferrari in the constructors’ but we needed both of us to finish at the front and it is a pity we didn’t.

“But things will be different next year. We’ll be starting with this car and there are no regulation changes, so it is a great way to end the season.”

Brit added: “Mercedes are getting a very quick driver. He is going to help them, but they have a big job on their hands. I hope one day we will be racing wheel to wheel again and I look forward to that challenge.”

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV or any other subsidiary associated with the official Formula One governing organizations The website is an unofficial website, all names and logos used here are property of their respective owners, more specially FORMULA 1, FORMULA ONE, F1, GRAND PRIX and logos and the wide Curves logo are trademarks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula One Group Company. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only. Official Formula One information can be found at www.formula1.com

Copyright © 2015 Thisisf1.com

To Top