Triple time Formula 1 world champions – Vettel is the youngest achiever

Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel became Formula 1 youngest triple world champion at the age of 25 following a rainy and dramatic Brazilian Grand Prix won by Jenson Button behind the safety car.

“You’re a triple world champion. You’re the man. You are a triple world champion,” Red Bull’s team principal Christian Horner said over the team radio as Vettel crossed the finish line following what he said later was the toughest race of his F1 career.

“It’s very difficult to find the right words, especially after the race today, and I think everything that could go wrong, went wrong. Vettel said following the Sunday race.

“To limp home, underneath the safety car (conditions), I didn’t know if it was enough…we had to really fight until the end.” The German added.

Jack Brabham, the Australian former racing driver who was Formula 1 champion in 1959, 1960 and 1966. He was a founder of the Brabham racing team and race car constructor that bore his name.

Sir John Young ‘Jackie’ Stewart is a Scottish former racing driver. Nicknamed the ‘Flying Scot’, he competed in Formula One between 1965 and 1973, winning three World Drivers’ Championships. He took F1 title in 1969, 1971 and 1973.

Andreas Nikolaus “Niki” Lauda is an Austrian former Formula 1 racing driver and three-time F1 World Champion. More recently an aviation entrepreneur, he has founded and run two airlines and was manager of the Jaguar Formula One racing team for two years. He won Formula 1 world championship in 1975, 1977 and 1984.

Nelson Piquet is a Brazilian former racing driver and businessman. He had a brief career in tennis before losing interest in the sport. He became the Brazilian national karting champion in 1971-72 and won the Formula Vee championship in 1976. He competed in Formula One between 1978- 1991, and set three time F1 world title in 1981, 1983 and 1987.

Ayrton Senna da Silva was a Brazilian racing driver who won three Formula One world championships. He was killed in an accident while leading the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix. He remains the last driver fatality in Formula 1. Senna has often been voted as one of the greatest Formula One driver of all time in various motorsport polls. The Brazilian F1 legend won Formula 1 world championship in 1988, 1990 and 1991.

Sebastian Vettel is a German Formula One racing driver, currently driving for the Austrian racing team Red Bull Racing. He is the current World Champion, having won the championship in 2010, 2011 and 2012. Vettel became the youngest ever triple world champion. Vettel also became the first driver to win his first three titles in consecutive fashion… The German continue the progress…

Credit: Wiki
Images © Respective owners


ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top