Connect with us


McLaren support double DRS zones for 2013 F1



McLaren technical director Paddy Lowe believes that Formula 1 governing body – FIA’s race director Charlie Whiting will arrange double DRS zones at every circuit for 2013 F1 season. The Woking based squad also support two DRS Zone for next season.

Last week FIA announced, they decided to restrict the use of DRS (Drag Reduction System) use throughout the Formula 1 practice and qualifying in 2013 season. They’re allowed to use DRS perhaps two places on the circuit.

Paddy Lowe says that in sequence for there to stay an encouragement for teams to keep their current ratios. Also he believes DRS is a “tremendous solution” to the long-standing problem of overtaking.

“We believe that, particularly if [FIA race director] Charlie [Whiting] arranges for two DRS zones at every circuit, which is what he’s committed to doing, that this will give enough incentive to ratio the car appropriately – pretty much as we do now, the same as if we had free use of DRS,” Lowe give details during a Vodefone McLaren Mercedes phone-in.

“At some circuits it doesn’t [help]. India I think was a good example of that – surprisingly, actually, because it’s got a good long straight there, it didn’t seem to allow overtaking, and then you get other circuits where arguably it’s too easy. It might be that we should look at that and try and trim the direction on those outlying circuits. But in general I think it works well. He said.

“I don’t hear people talking about it being some sort of fix or artificial solution. I think it’s something that the driver has to play tactically and use with tremendous skill. We saw that on Sunday with Lewis and Sebastian. That was a fair fight, a very very close duel. Ultimately Lewis got past using DRS but it wasn’t easy and everybody admired the skill with which he did it. So I think generally it’s working very very well.”
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media