Connect with us


2012 Formula 1 Indian Grand Prix Preview



2012 Indian Grand Prix is seventeenth round of the Formula 1 world championship. It is held at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, New Delhi and Capital city of India.

The opening event took place on 30th October 2011, defending world champion Sebastian Vettel win the opening race.

Buddh International Circuit designed by famous Formula 1 circuit architect Hermann Tilke, 5.141 kilometers in length. The circuit is spread across an area of 875 acres and is a part of Jaypee Green Sports city.

The track in all has 16 largely medium speed corners where Formula One cars lap at an average speed of approximately 210 km/h (130 mph). The back straight lets cars reach a top speed of around 320 km/h (199 mph).

The current Formula One lap record, set during the 2011 event, is 1 minute 27.249 seconds. Prior to the first race organizers received feedback from teams who performed track analysis using simulators, leading to modification of Turn 7 in order to maximize overtaking opportunities into the banked Turn 10. A grandstand with a capacity of 13,000 overlooks Turns 10 and 11.

Circuit Information

Race Date : 28 Oct 2012
Circuit Name : Buddh International Circuit
First Grand Prix : 2011
Number of Laps : 60
Circuit Length : 5.125 km
Race Distance : 307.249 km
Lap Record : 1:27.249 – S Vettel (2011)
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media