Connect with us


Alonso set Pole position in rain interrupts qualifying for British GP



Rain interrupted long qualifying session, Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso set top fastest lap-time and grab his first pole position in the season.

The Australian Mark Webber posted second fastest lap-time ahead of seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher.

Qualifying was interrupted for over an hour and a half after the heavy rain, more water standing in the track and all drivers difficult to handle. The session start again, conditions were much improved and every one fit with intermediates and challenge in Q3 for pole.

Double young world champion Sebastian Vettel done fourth fastest ahead of Ferrari second guy Felipe Massa. Kimi Raikkonen set sixth fastest and William driver Pastor Maldonado will start seventh on the grid tomorrow.

The paper tigers, McLaren too disappointed in the Saturday qualifying. Local boy Lewis Hamilton set eighth fastest and his team-mate can’t enter Q2 and set 18th fastest… More Follow

Mercedes GP speedy Nico Rosberg will start from ninth on the grid tomorrow, alongside with Lotus F1’s Romain Grosjean.

Another local boy Paul di Resta set 11th fastest lap-time and he will start from alongside with Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi on the sixth row.

Big news from Q1 was once again McLaren guy Jenson Button disappointed with qualifying pace. Button’s final lap restricted by more rain arriving in the final sector plus yellow flags for Timo Glock’s spun Marussia on the exit of Club.

All material and photos are copyrighted material and owned by their respective owners. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only.Images come courtesy of;,, Sahara,,, Caterham F1, toyota, Sauber, williamsf1, lotus, Marussia, HRT, getty Images,LAT, Reuters Pictures and AP Photos.
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media