Connect with us


Alonso fastest in shortened Monaco GP Practice 1



Fernando Alonso was quickest in first free practice for Monaco GP, the Spaniard post his fastest time just 0.3s ahead of the Lotus F1’s Romain Grosjean. Sauber’s Sergio Perez set third fastest 0.446sec behind the Grosjean.

But the session was red flagged with eight minutes left over following Heikki Kovalainen’s engine failed in a trail of smoke in the tunnel-exit.

Top runners limited run in the practice one cause for wasting tyres on the street track, Jean Eric-Vergne posted first top lap-time, Michael Schumacher and Romain Grosjean was posted fastest lap-time in early stage of the session.

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton set fourth fastest ahead of Spanish GP winner Pastor Maldonado. Ferrari’s Massa improved his performance and he sixth quickest, and Kamui Kobayashi set seventh fastest ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button.

Defending world champion Sebastian Vettel set an even faster first sector (19.8) as the session entered the final 10 minutes when Heikki Kovalainen’s Renault engine failed through the tunnel stopping the session.

Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg post tenth fastest and his team-mate five-time Monaco winner Schumacher ended up 11th following damaging his front wing when he clattered the kerbs at the Swimming Pool, Red Bull Racing’s Mark Webber was 13th.

Lotus speedy Kimi Raikkonen completed just a single installation lap before deciding the Monaco-specific steering wasn’t to his liking and decided to have it changed, washed out the rest of his session.

All material and photos are copyrighted material and owned by their respective owners. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only.Images come courtesy of;,, Sahara,,, Caterham F1, toyota, Sauber, williamsf1, lotus, Marussia, HRT,, getty Images/LAT and AP Photos.
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media