Monaco GP officials announce several changes in track for safety

Monaco GP track officials declared that several changes that have been completed to the track in the streets of Monte Carlo to recover more safety.

Last year Sauber F1’s Sergio Perez suffered after crashing heavily in qualifying in chicane just after the exit of the tunnel. This season they are mainly changes feature in chicane just following the way out of the tunnel.

Autosport reported that – “The track surface on the approach to the chicane has been levelled out, after a laser study of the road revealed changes as big as 20cm in the height of the track in the braking area.

“In addition, the wall that Perez hit has been pushed back a further 14.6 metres. The other significant changes feature around the pit exit, which has been widened and straightened by removing some trees to allow cars to rejoin the track at a higher speed than before.”

“Other modifications include the laying of high-grip surfaces as used at Paul Ricard in some escape roads, and tyre barriers being replaced with TecPro barriers – like the one Perez hit – at St Devote and the Swimming Pool section.” Autosport added.

A statement from the Automobile Club de Monaco said: “Safety is an abiding concern for the Monaco Grand Prix organisers.

“The various measures implemented above aim to put the safety of drivers and public first and demonstrate a continued will to modernise the circuit.”

All material and photos are copyrighted material and owned by their respective owners. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only.Images come courtesy of; ferrari.com, mclaren.com, Sahara forceindiaf1.com, redbull.com, mercedesgp.com, Caterham F1, toyota, Sauber, williamsf1, lotus, Marussia, HRT, Daylife.com, getty Images/LAT and AP Photos.

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV or any other subsidiary associated with the official Formula One governing organizations The website is an unofficial website, all names and logos used here are property of their respective owners, more specially FORMULA 1, FORMULA ONE, F1, GRAND PRIX and logos and the wide Curves logo are trademarks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula One Group Company. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only. Official Formula One information can be found at www.formula1.com

Copyright © 2015 Thisisf1.com

To Top