Connect with us

twenty twelve australian gp

Double DRS zones for 2012 Australian Grand Prix



Two DRS (Drag Reduction System) zone for season opening Grand Prix at Australia next weekend. In 2011 DRS introduced in Formula 1, its will making more overtaking opportunities.

Drag Reduction System concept has been set up to make races more progress by create effortless overtaking. DRS will be permitted to be used at any time in practice and Qualification but carry on safety intimidation in mind it will bounded with FIA rules and regulations when it comes to actual race day.

2012 Australian Grand Prix ©

Last year in Australian GP, DRS use only in pit straight, but this year it will be in action at another point on the circuit as well.

“Historically overtaking has been difficult in Melbourne, but this time there will be two DRS zones,” Sauber’s head of track engineering Giampaolo Dall’Ara revealed.

Jenson Button added: “I think the potential of a second DRS zone will be a real benefit – last year, along the startline wasn’t quite enough for overtaking – I think we’ll get more benefit from a second zone.”

FIA has yet to publish details about the two DRS zones in Melbourne but potential locations for the second zone would be between turns two and three or between turns 12 and 13.

All material and photos are copyrighted material and owned by their respective owners. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and

editorial purposes only.Images come courtesy of;,, Sahara,,, Caterham F1, toyota, Sauber, williamsf1, lotus,

Marussia, HRT,, getty Images/LAT and AP Photos.
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media