Sauber confirms exit from FOTA

Sauber has joined Ferrari and Red Bull in leaving the Formula One Teams’ Association. Last week Red Bull and Ferrari exit from FOTA (Formula One Teams’ Association) Yesterday Autosport reveal that Sauber confirm the exit.

A team spokeswoman confirmed on Wednesday that Sauber was no longer going to continue being a member for reasons, ‘that have been fully explained to FOTA and will be kept private for now.’

And other fresh news Toro Rosso now planning quit from FOTA, not officially confirmed. The sister team Red Bull pulling out last week, it stands to reason that Toro Rosso, which is also owned by Dietrich Mateschitz, will follow.

FOTA’s remaining members – which now are McLaren, Renault, Mercedes GP, Williams, Force India, Lotus and Virgin – met in Tuesday for a meeting to discuss where the body goes from here. A FOTA spokesman declined to comment on the outcome of those talks, or where the organisation planned to go from here.

But, sources have suggested that – with Red Bull Racing, Ferrari, Sauber and Scuderia Toro Rosso still having to serve a two months’ notice period before they can officially leave – there will be a push to try to get them to reconsider their decisions.

All material and photos are copyrighted material and owned by their respective owners. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only.Images come courtesy of; ferrari.com, mclaren.com, forceindiaf1.com, redbull.com, mercedesgp.com, renaultf1.com, toyota, bmw-sauber, williamsf1, lotus, virgin, Daylife.com, getty Images/LAT and AP Photos.

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV or any other subsidiary associated with the official Formula One governing organizations The website is an unofficial website, all names and logos used here are property of their respective owners, more specially FORMULA 1, FORMULA ONE, F1, GRAND PRIX and logos and the wide Curves logo are trademarks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula One Group Company. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only. Official Formula One information can be found at www.formula1.com

Copyright © 2015 Thisisf1.com

To Top