Jaime Alguersuari wins karting race hosted by Massa

Desafio Das Estrelas karting officials declared Jaime Alguersuari has the winner of the Brazilian karting event. Original winner Jules Bianchi being disqualified for a technical breach. Bianchi’s kart was set up to be underweight during investigations which followed the second race, promoting Alguersuari to the top karting event.

“Jules Bianchi was the man to deserve all the credits with two victories in the double-header race, but the French driver failed to comply with the regulations regarding the minimum weight after the second heat,” a post-race press release confirmed.

“I feel sorry for Jules, but rules are for everybody,” added Toro Rosso F1 driver Alguersuari. “Anyway, the important thing is to be part of a big party like this. I love to come to Brazil and Florianópolis, and I look forward to being here again next year.”

Listed below are the revised overall standings for the event:

1. Jaime Alguersuari, 40 points
2. Felipe Massa, 29 points
3. Lucas di Greassi, 28 points
4. Rubens Barrichello, 26 points
5. Jules Bianchi, 25 points
6. Antonio Pizzonia, 21 points
7. Jérôme d’Ambrosio, 17 points
8. Luciano Burti, 14 points
9. Nelson Piquet Jr, 13 points
10. Ricardo Zonta, 13 points

All material and photos are copyrighted material and owned by their respective owners. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only.Images come courtesy of; ferrari.com, mclaren.com, forceindiaf1.com, redbull.com, mercedesgp.com, renaultf1.com, toyota, bmw-sauber, williamsf1, lotus, virgin, Daylife.com, getty Images/LAT and AP Photos.

Click to comment
If you want any editorial or advertisement enquiry, Please send mail to thisisf1site@gmail.com and Info@thisisf1.com

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top