Connect with us

Latest F1 News

Alonso fastest in first practice for the German GP



The Spaniard Fernando Alonso hold his form after his British GP win and now Alonso top in Friday first free practice session for the German GP.

The Ferrari’s driver Fernando Alonso completed ahead of Red Bull Racing’s drivers Webber and Vettel, who were over three tenths slower than the Spaniard.

Ferrari’s Felipe Massa’s fourth top time, the Brazilian finished ahead of the McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton. Jenson Button, Nico Rosberg, Adrian Sutil, Nico Hulkenberg and Michael Schumacher completed the top 10.

The Lotus-Renault GP’s Nick Heidfeld was the first driver to complete a timed lap after 20 minutes, the German trying out the new rear-facing exhaust system introduced by the team this weekend.

The British speedy Hamilton was demoted to second place with some 52 minutes of the session to go, when Vettel outpaced him by two tenths of a second in the Red Bull. Alonso leaped to the top of the timesheets just following the one-hour mark, the Spaniard stopping the clock at 1m32.037s. The Ferrari driver improved even further on his following lap, moving into the 1m31s and outpacing Webber by over two tenths, the Australian having jumped to second.

Team-Lotus driver Karun Chandhok made his first appearance as an formal racing driver for Team Lotus, and he was 21st quickest time of the day. Narain Karthikeyan was back in action after losing his HRT seat to Daniel Ricciardo, the India replacing Tonio Liuzzi for the opening session.

The last movement yellow-flag indicated with less than a minute to go when Sebastien Buemi went off the track at high speed at Curve 5. The Swiss driver was lucky to avoid contact with anything and his car ended up stuck on the gravel.

Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media