2011 Australian GP News and Results

Australian Grand Prix – Countdown

March 25: Free practice 1

March 25: Free practice 2
March 26: Free practice 3
March 26: Qualifying
March 27: Race

 The Australian GP is a motor race held yearly and is held to be the top of motor racing in Australia. The Grand Prix is the oldest surviving motor racing contest held in Australia having been held 75 times since it was first run at Phillip Island in 1928. Since 1985 the race has been a round of the FIA Formula One World Championship. It is currently held at the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit at Albert Park in Melbourne. Prior to its addition in the World Championship it was held at a huge number of places in every state of Australia. It was a centerpiece of the Tasman Series between 1964 and 1972 and was a round of the Australian Drivers’ Championship on lots of events between 1957 and 1983. It became part of the Formula One World Championship in 1985 and was held at the Adelaide Street Circuit in Adelaide, South Australia from that year to 1995, before moving to Melbourne in 1996.

Australian GP is the second round of the Championship, having been the first race of each year, excluding 2006 and 2010, 2011 F1 season starting in Australia once again due to Bahrain postponed following unrest in the country.

2010 Australian GP: Race results

Pos  Driver  Nat  Team  Time  Status 
1.  Jenson Button  GBR McLaren-Mercedes  1:33:36.531 
2.  Robert Kubica  PLD Renault  12.034 
3.  Felipe Massa  BRZ Ferrari  14.488 
4.  Fernando Alonso  ESP Ferrari  16.304 
5.  Nico Rosberg  GER Mercedes  16.683 
6.  Lewis Hamilton  GBR McLaren-Mercedes  29.898 
7.  Vitantonio Liuzzi  ITY Force India-Mercedes  59.847 
8.  Rubens Barrichello  BRZ Williams-Cosworth  1:00.536 
9.  Mark Webber  AUS  Red Bull-Renault  1:07.319 
10.  Michael Schumacher  GER Mercedes  1:09.391 
11.  Jaime Alguersuari  ESP Toro Rosso-Ferrari  1:11.301 
12.  Pedro de la Rosa  ESP Sauber-Ferrari  1:14.084 
13.  Heikki Kovalainen  FIN  Lotus-Cosworth  -2 laps 
14.  Karun Chandhok  IND  HRT-Cosworth  -4 laps 
DNF  Timo Glock  GER Virgin-Cosworth  on lap 41  Suspension 
DNF  Sebastian Vettel  GER Red Bull-Renault  on lap 26  Brakes 
DNF  Lucas di Grassi  BRZ Virgin-Cosworth  on lap 25  Hydraulics 
DNF  Adrian Sutil  GER Force India-Mercedes  on lap 12  Engine 
DNF  Vitaly Petrov  RUS  Renault  on lap 10  Spun 
DNF  Bruno Senna  BRZ HRT-Cosworth  on lap 5  Hydraulics 
DNF  Sebastien Buemi  CH  Toro Rosso-Ferrari  on lap 1  Accident 
DNF  Nico Hulkenberg  GER Williams-Cosworth  on lap 1  Accident 
DNF  Kamui Kobayashi  JPN Sauber-Ferrari  on lap 1  Accident 
DNS  Jarno Trulli  Lotus-Cosworth  on lap 1  Hydraulics 

All material and photos are copyrighted material and owned by their respective owners. Use or depiction of images or trademarks throughout this website is for illustrative and editorial purposes only.

ThisisF1.com is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment.

We could use the following leading F1 news sources for stories: SkyF1, BBC F1, Autosport, ESPN F1, FIA Media Center, MotorSport, JamesAllen and others leading authors blog.

All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media

To Top