Connect with us


Texas signs Ten year contract for United State Grand Prix (American GP)



The American GP will be returning to the calendar in 2012 season as Austin, Texas hosts what is set to be the country’s primary race since 2007. The approval comes following many rumors concerning a Grand Prix in the country, with races in New York and its neighboring area having been the major subjects.

Following strategy for a New Jersey street circuit were scrapped just a day after they were exposed, the Upper State New York Monticello circuit put forward a suggestions last week although it has now been set that an agreement has been signed among Texas and sporting commercial rights holder Formula One Management. The agreement for Austin – nicknamed ‘Silicon Hills’ due to being one of the most famous regions in the USA for the technology industry – to serve as host city to the event will begin in 2012 and run through to 2021, with the race taking place at a purpose-built location.

“We are extremely honored and proud to reach an agreement with the F1 commercial rights holder,” said Tavo Hellmund, Managing Partner of race promoter Full Throttle Productions, after confirming the deal with FOM head Bernie Ecclestone.

“We have been diligently working together for several years to bring this great event to Austin, the State of Texas and back to the United States. All parties involved have a great amount of trust and confidence in each other and are committed to establishing the United States Grand Prix in Austin, Texas as a prestigious global event.”

“For the first time in the history of Formula 1 in the United States, a world-class facility will be purpose-built to host the event,” Ecclestone explained. “It was thirty years ago that the United States Grand Prix was last held on a purpose-built permanent road course circuit at Watkins Glen, which enjoyed great success.”
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media