Connect with us


Monaco Grand Prix Memorable Moments



Monte Carlo Grand Prix – Circuit De Monaco “Memorable Moments

1950 : As Juan Manual Fangio advanced a blind corner on lap two he noticed the crowd were not looking at him in the lead, but at something on the circuit ahead. He slowed right down and avoided a massive pileup that claimed many of the drivers behind him who were not so observant. The crash was started by a wave from the harbour that splashed onto the circuit.

1950 Winner
Juan Manuel Fangio
Team – Alfa Romeo
Laps – 100

1965 : Graham Hill had an incident with a backmarker on lap 25 and lost the lead. He fought back through the order to claim a dominant victory, earning the nickname Mr Monaco along the way.

1965 Winner
Graham Hill
Team – BRM
Laps – 100

1970 : Jack Brabham threw away victory in the most spectacular fashion by crashing into the wall on the very last corner of the race. Brabham had managed to avoid the barriers for almost two hours but made an awful mistake right before the finish line, handing Jochen Rindt the win.

1970 Winner
Jochen Rindt
Team – Lotus-Ford
Laps – 80

1982 : The lead changed six times in the final four laps in one of the most exciting Grands Prix in F1 history. A late shower caught out most of the drivers in the dying stages, and Ricardo Patrese took victory despite having to bump start his car after a spin on the second last lap.

1982 Winner
Riccardo Patrese
Team – Brabham-Ford
Laps – 76

1984 : Ayrton Senna stormed through the field in a Toleman during a wet race in his first season of F1. Senna was robbed of victory when the race was controversially stopped as he passed Alain Prost for the lead.

1984 Winner
Alain Prost
Team – McLaren-TAG
Laps – 31

1992 : Ayrton Senna and Nigel Mansell staged an epic battle for the lead in the final laps of the race. Mansell was behind Senna and had a much faster car, but could not get past despite trying every trick in the book. Fans the world over held their breath as Senna won by just two tenths of a second.

1992 Winner
Ayrton Senna
Team – McLaren-Honda
Laps – 78

1996 : Only three cars finished the Grand Prix making it the smallest field to complete a race in Formula One history. Olivier Panis took the win in rainy conditions.

1996 Winner
Olivier Panis
Team – Ligier-Mugen-Honda
Laps – 75
Time – 2:00:456
Click to comment

2018 F1 Launch

F1 Testing Updates

Most Popular is not affiliated with Formula 1, Formula One Management, Formula One Administration, Formula One Licensing BV, Formula One World Championship Ltd or any other organization or entity associated with the official Formula One governing organizations or their shareholders. Copyrighted material used under Fair Use/Fair Comment. All Rights Reserved © 2017 Prime Sport Media